TASTY NEPALI FOOD FINDS

Here are some Nepali food finds that I’ve truly enjoyed:

 

1. Chicken or Vegetable Momo (Dumpling) with Tomato Chutney

I had chicken momo at a restaurant nearby the Phewa Lakeside Road in downtown Pokhara.

momo

2. Dhal Bhat (Lentil and Rice)

Tea lodges along the Annapurna Base Camp trek offer some of the best vegetarian dhal bhat dishes I’ve tried so far.

dhal-bhat

3. Chicken Khaja

I had this dish at a grill chicken restaurant situated in downtown Chitwan on the way to the Chitwan National Park. The grill chicken was a little dry but nevertheless a very unique dish as it was eaten with pop rice and served with fried soybean side dish.

chicken_khaja

4. Tuna Spring Rolls

These Nepali spring rolls contained tuna, cabbage, potato, carrot and long beans with curry spices. Simply mouth watering!

tuna_springroll

5. Yak Cheese

I had yummy yak cheese pizza and macaroni with yak cheese while trekking to the Annapurna Base Camp. Yak cheese is quite smoky. I made delicious béchamel sauce with yak cheese as part of the ingredient for preparing the Greek moussaka. The final product was super tasty. I got these from the Thamel Supermarket.

yak_cheese

6. Lychee

Hard to believe but Nepal do produce lychee towards late May. They were very juicy, sweet and pesticide free. I haven’t had lychee in more than 5 years and these surpassed my expectations. The ones purchased from Kathmandu fruit vendors were the best.

lychee

There were many varieties of food in Nepal. Since Nepal has always been a landlocked country, it’s near to impossible finding fresh seafood there. However, one could conveniently consider becoming a vegetarian as vegetable dishes offered were a plenty and affordable. I’d love to try Nepali snacks such as pani puri and chana chatpate in the future.

What is your favorite food in Nepal? Feel free to comment, share or suggest restaurants to try in the future. Looking forward to hear from you soon 🙂

2 thoughts on “TASTY NEPALI FOOD FINDS

  1. I’ve never tasted! And though your blog I can at least enjoy the idea! Since my long affliction with Japan I have not been into travel so much. For me these days there is no place like home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think there are restaurants in the US serving authentic Nepali food. I totally understand that you had had a lot on your plate. Being contented at home is good too. Everyone works differently that is why we are all unique in our own way.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

